Laois Student Enterprise Awards

Student Enterprise Awards

Our Centre Coordinator, Patricia Frayne, was delighted to be one of the judges at the Laois Student Enterprise Awards held recently in the Midlands Park Hotel.  Her fellow judges were PJ Ralph, Head of County (Laois) at Bank of Ireland and Claire Dunleavy, LEO Kildare.

The awards are run by the Laois Local Enterprise Office and six Laois schools were represented this year.  This was broken down to 27 entrants, all of whom were competing for the title and the chance to go forward and represent Laois at the National Student Enterprise Awards in May.

The atmosphere was electric as the judges moved around the stands and questioned each of the participants about their businesses.  The standard of entries was very high and the talent and vision displayed by each participant bodes well for the future of enterprise development here in county Laois.

However, there could only be one winner and that title went to Alice Carew of Mountrath CS and her mini-company Lulls.  Her product is a wireless headphone specially designed for people and children with sensitive hearing.

Other winners were as follows:

Schuchleberry stand
Patricia Frayne at the Schuchleberry & Co stand.

2nd place
Schuchleberry & Co – Eoin Schuch, Emmet Conroy and Robert O’Sullivan – Mountrath CS

3rd place
Snack Zone – Fionn Holland, Adam Mulhall, Eoin Ryan – Heywood CS

Innovation Award
James Blake Pens – James Blake – Portlaoise CBS

Best Display Award
Ready Made – Roisin Kirby, Ellen Major, Grace O’Brien – Scoil Chriost Ri Portlaoise

Business Iniative Award
Kris Kindling – Ben Slevin, Sean McCloskey, Adam Maher, Billy Whelan – Colaiste Iosagain, Portarlington

Team Spirit Award
Glitzy Glam – Akira Okonkwo, Amber Dalton, Larry Lynch, Courtney Brennan, Mikal Kuras, Callum Collins, Mahmoud Said – Portlaoise College

This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. By browsing this website, you agree to our use of cookies.